Skip to main content
  • free

    Life giving resources. Faithfully delivered.

    FREE delivery on orders over £10

  • UK

    Serving over 2 million Christians in the UK

    with Bibles, Books and Church Supplies

  • Church

    Our Buy-Now-Pay-Later accounts used

    by over 4,000 UK Churches & Schools

  • Excellent 4.8 out of 5


When Lightning Strikes


by Hugh Alan Smith

    • Author

      Hugh Alan Smith

    • Book Format


    • Publisher

      Herald Press (VA)

    • Published

      October 2001

      Read full description

      Today's Price


      Save 21%

      Free delivery icon

      Free UK Delivery

      Available - Usually dispatched within 3 days

      • Paypal
      • Google Pay
      • Apple Pay
      • Visa
      • Mastercard
      • Amex

      When Lightning Strikes

      Today's Price £12.19

      Product Description

      The year is 1874, and Paul Wipf is enchanted by dreams of America. But when lightning strikes, killing his parents, his dreams are shattered and buried in the ashes of sadness and guilt. How can Paul be happy, knowing it is his parents' death that makes it possible for him to leave Russia? How can he be happy living with his sour old aunt and her group of Hutterites, whose life seems controlled more by rules than by love? How can he be happy when all he wants is what can never be--life as it used to be?

      Then there is Hannah, the peculiar girl with shining brown eyes that probe straight into the darkness of his soul. Can Paul trust her with his story? And there is the adventurous journey to America-- a dangerous storm at sea, encounters with thieves and gamblers, seemingly endless train rides, and a deadly dysentery epidemic.

      Can Paul be saved from the bitterness he feels for God and himself? Will he abandon Hannah and the Hutterites, and run to the wild life of the American west? Only Paul can decide what will become of his life as the awesome power of God is revealed once more, when lightning strikes.

      Free downloadable study guide available here.

      Book 1 in "Crossings of Promise" series: Series includes:1. When Lighting Strikes (Hugh Alan Smith)2. Calm Before the Storm (Janice Dick)3. Keeper of Hearts (Dianne Christner)4. Eye of the Storm (Janice Dick)5. when the River Calls (Hugh alan Smith)6. Cost of Passage (Heather Tekavec)7. Out of the Storm (Janice Dick)


      • Author

        Hugh Alan Smith

      • Book Format


      • Publisher

        Herald Press (VA)

      • Published

        October 2001

      • Weight


      • Dimensions

        140 x 210 x 10 mm

      • ISBN


      • ISBN-10


      • Eden Code


      More Information

      • Author/Creator: Hugh Alan Smith

      • ISBN: 9780836191646

      • Publisher: Herald Press (VA)

      • Release Date: October 2001

      • Weight: 187g

      • Dimensions: 140 x 210 x 10 mm

      • Eden Code: 4909989

      Product Q+A

      Ask a Question

      Recently Viewed