Skip to main content
  • free

    Life giving resources. Faithfully delivered.

    FREE delivery on orders over £10

  • UK

    Serving over 2 million Christians in the UK

    with Bibles, Books and Church Supplies

  • Church

    Our Buy-Now-Pay-Later accounts used

    by over 4,000 UK Churches & Schools

  • Excellent 4.8 out of 5


1-2 Kings

A 12 Week Study

by Gavin Ortlund

Exploring the dramatic books of 1 and 2 Kings, this study shows the importance, and effect, of following God - and what happened when that path was strayed from.

    • Author

      Gavin Ortlund

    • Book Format


    • Publisher


    • Published

      May 2017

    Read full description

    Today's Price


    Save 12%

    Available - Usually dispatched within 4 days

    • Paypal
    • Google Pay
    • Apple Pay
    • Visa
    • Mastercard
    • Amex

    1-2 Kings

    Today's Price £6.14

    Product Description

    The Knowing the Bible series is a resource designed to help Bible readers better understand and apply God's Word. These 12-week studies lead participants through books of the Bible and are made up of four basic components:

    1. Reflection questions help readers engage the text at a deeper level;
    2. "Gospel Glimpses" highlight the gospel of grace throughout the book;
    3. "Whole-Bible Connections" show how any given passage connects to the Bible's overarching story of redemption, culminating in Christ; and
    4. "Theological Soundings" identify how historic orthodox doctrines are taught or reinforced throughout Scripture.

    With contributions from an array of influential pastors and church leaders, these gospel-centered studies will help Christians see and cherish the message of God's grace on every page of the Bible.

    The books of 1 and 2 Kings highlight a clear contrast between the covenant-keeping God and the covenant-breaking people of Israel. Walking readers through these two biblical books, this accessible study guide helps us see God's mercy and grace as he offers blessings instead of curses to his people in response to their disobedience--pointing forward to the faithfulness of the Redeemer who was to come.

    Part of the Knowing the Bible series.

    Series Preface: J. I. Packer and Lane T. Dennis

    Week 1: Overview
    Week 2: The Wealth and Wisdom of Solomon (1 Kings 1-4)
    Week 3: The Temple: God's Presence Amidst His People (1 Kings 5-10)
    Week 4: Disobedience, Division, Decline (1 Kings 11-16)
    Week 5: Elijah and Covenant Renewal (1 Kings 17-19)
    Week 6: Ahab's Death and Elijah's Departure (1 Kings 20-2 Kings 2)
    Week 7: Elisha and the Prophetic Word (2 Kings 3:1-8:6)
    Week 8: Jehu and Jehoash: Judgment and Reform (2 Kings 8:7-12:21)
    Week 9: The Decline and Fall of the Northern Kingdom (2 Kings 13-17)
    Week 10: Deliverance under Hezekiah, and Further Decline (2 Kings 18-21)
    Week 11: Reform under Josiah, and the Fall of the Southern Kingdom (2 Kings 22-25)
    Week 12: Summary and Conclusion


    • Author

      Gavin Ortlund

    • Book Format


    • Publisher


    • Published

      May 2017

    • Weight


    • Page Count


    • Dimensions

      153 x 224 x 8 mm

    • ISBN


    • ISBN-10


    • Eden Code


    More Information

    • Author/Creator: Gavin Ortlund

    • ISBN: 9781433553707

    • Publisher: Crossway

    • Release Date: May 2017

    • Weight: 159g

    • Dimensions: 153 x 224 x 8 mm

    • Eden Code: 4504884

    Product Q+A

    Ask a Question

    Recently Viewed