Skip to main content
  • free

    Life giving resources. Faithfully delivered.

    FREE delivery on orders over £10

  • UK

    Serving over 2 million Christians in the UK

    with Bibles, Books and Church Supplies

  • Church

    Our Buy-Now-Pay-Later accounts used

    by over 4,000 UK Churches & Schools

  • Excellent 4.8 out of 5


Follow the lives of 4 very different women as they embark on a journey of spiritual discovery

  • A novel with a Christian message for women

  • Follow the lives of 4 women as they embark on a spiritual journey

  • You'll learn spiritual disciplines you can apply to your own life

  • Author

    Sharon Garlough Brown

  • Book Format

    Paperback / softback

  • Publisher

    Intervarsity Press (IVP)

  • Published

    February 2013

Read full description
Look inside image

Today's Price


Free delivery icon

Free UK Delivery

20+ In Stock - Order before 7:30pm for same day dispatch

  • Paypal
  • Google Pay
  • Apple Pay
  • Visa
  • Mastercard
  • Amex

Sensible Shoes

Today's Price £14.30

You Might Also Like...

Product Description

Sharon Garlough Brown tells the moving story of four strangers as they embark together on a journey of spiritual formation:

Hannah, a pastor who doesn't realize how exhausted she is.

Meg, a widow and recent empty-nester who is haunted by her past.

Mara, a woman who has experienced a lifetime of rejection and is now trying to navigate a difficult marriage.

Charissa, a hard-working graduate student who wants to get things right.

You're invited to join these four women as they reluctantly arrive at a retreat center and find themselves drawn out of their separate stories of isolation and struggle and into a collective journey of spiritual practice, mutual support and personal revelation.

Along the way, readers will be taken into a new understanding of key spiritual practices and find tangible support for the deeper life with God.

If you want to travel this journey with others, you will find a group study guide and book club resources at

1. Invitation to a Journey

2. The Pilgrimage Begins

3. Exploring the Heart of God

4. Learning to Linger

5. Come and See

6. Hiding and Seeking

7. Walking Attentively

8. Intimacy and Encounter

9. Found at the Crossroads

10. Deeper into the Wilderness

11. Lightening the Load

12. Walking Together in the Love of God



Discussion Guide

Sharon Garlough Brown is a spiritual director, speaker, and cofounder of Abiding Way Ministries, providing spiritual formation retreats and resources. She is the author of the bestselling Sensible Shoes Series, which includes spiritual fiction novels Sensible Shoes, Two Steps Forward, Barefoot, An Extra Mile, and their study guides.


  • Author

    Sharon Garlough Brown

  • Book Format

    Paperback / softback

  • Publisher

    Intervarsity Press (IVP)

  • Published

    February 2013

  • Weight


  • Page Count


  • Dimensions

    140 x 209 x 28 mm

  • ISBN


  • ISBN-10


  • Eden Code


More Information

  • Author/Creator: Sharon Garlough Brown

  • ISBN: 9780830843053

  • Publisher: Intervarsity Press (IVP)

  • Release Date: February 2013

  • Weight: 454g

  • Dimensions: 140 x 209 x 28 mm

  • Eden Code: 4072207


4.9 (7)

Average rating of 4.9 from 7 reviews

Write Review

Product Q+A

Ask a Question

Recently Viewed