Skip to main content
  • free

    Life giving resources. Faithfully delivered.

    FREE delivery on orders over £10

  • UK

    Serving over 2 million Christians in the UK

    with Bibles, Books and Church Supplies

  • Church

    Our Buy-Now-Pay-Later accounts used

    by over 4,000 UK Churches & Schools

  • Excellent 4.8 out of 5

    Trustpilot

Canary in the Coal Mine

[Paperback]

by William Cooke, Laura Ungar

    • Author

      William Cooke

    • Book Format

      Paperback / softback

    • Publisher

      Tyndale House Publishers

    • Published

      May 2023

    Read full description
    Look inside image

    Today's Price

    £16.63

    Free delivery icon

    Free UK Delivery


    Available - Usually dispatched within 4 days


    • Paypal
    • Google Pay
    • Apple Pay
    • Visa
    • Mastercard
    • Amex

    Canary in the Coal Mine

    Today's Price £16.63



    Product Description

    One doctor’s courageous fight to save a small town from a silent epidemic that threatened the community’s future—and exposed a national health crisis.

    When Dr. Will Cooke, an idealistic young physician just out of medical training, set up practice in the small rural community of Austin, Indiana, he had no idea that much of the town was being torn apart by poverty, addiction, and life-threatening illnesses. But he soon found himself at the crossroads of two unprecedented health-care disasters: a national opioid epidemic and the worst drug-fueled HIV outbreak ever seen in rural America.

    Confronted with Austin’s hidden secrets, Dr. Cooke decided he had to do something about them. In taking up the fight for Austin’s people, however, he would have to battle some unanticipated foes: prejudice, political resistance, an entrenched bureaucracy—and the dark despair that threatened to overwhelm his own soul. Canary in the Coal Mine is a gripping account of the transformation of a man and his adopted community, a compelling and ultimately hopeful read in the vein of Hillbilly Elegy, Dreamland, and Educated.

    Specification

    • Author

      William Cooke

    • Book Format

      Paperback / softback

    • Publisher

      Tyndale House Publishers

    • Published

      May 2023

    • Weight

      341g

    • Dimensions

      138 x 209 x 138 mm

    • ISBN

      9781496446497

    • ISBN-10

      1496446496

    • Eden Code

      5629861

    More Information

    • Author/Creator: William Cooke

    • ISBN: 9781496446497

    • Publisher: Tyndale House Publishers

    • Release Date: May 2023

    • Weight: 341g

    • Dimensions: 138 x 209 x 138 mm

    • Eden Code: 5629861


    Product Q+A

    Ask a Question

    Recently Viewed