Skip to main content
  • Your one-stop-shop for Christian resources

  • Fast free UK delivery over £10

  • Over 2 million customers across the UK

  • Buy now pay later for schools and churches

Surprised By Joy

C. S. Lewis' Autobiography: An Accidental Journey from Atheism to Christianity [Paperback]

by C. S. Lewis

Telling with compelling eloquence and crystal prose the story of his accidental faith, C.S. Lewis shares how he 'passed from Atheism to Christianity'.

  • For anyone interested in the man behind the Narnia books

  • This autobiography of C.S. Lewis' formative years reveals the early steps of a great faith

  • You'll find insight and conviction to colour your own faith through the words of C.S.Lewis

  • Author

    C. S. Lewis

  • Book Format


  • Publisher

    William Collins

  • Published

    April 2012

Read full description

Today's Price


Only 2 In Stock - Order before 7:30pm for same day dispatch

  • Paypal
  • Google Pay
  • Apple Pay
  • Visa
  • Mastercard
  • Amex

Surprised By Joy

Today's Price £9.21

Product Description

This product is also available in these value bundles

This autobiography of C.S.Lewis's early life, focusing on the spiritual crisis which was to determine the shape of his entire life, now repackaged and rebranded as a key title in the C.S. Lewis Signature Classics range.

"In the Trinity Term of 1929 I gave in, and admitted that God was God! (I was) perhaps the most dejected and reluctant convert in all England." Thus C.S. Lewis describes memorably the crisis of his conversion in his famous autobiography.

Lewis was for many years an atheist, and in Surprised by Joy he vividly describes the spiritual quest which eventually convinced him of the truth and reality of the Christian faith.


1. The First Years

2. Concentration Camp

3. Mountbracken and Campbell

4. I Broadened My Mind

5. Renaissance

6. Bloodery

7. Light and Shade

8. Release

9. The Great Knock

10. Fortune's Smile

11. Check

12. Guns and Good Company

13. The New Look

14. Checkmate

15. The Beginning


  • Author

    C. S. Lewis

  • Book Format


  • Publisher

    William Collins

  • Published

    April 2012

  • Weight


  • Page Count


  • Dimensions

    130 x 196 x 21 mm

  • ISBN


  • ISBN-10


  • Eden Code


More Information

  • Author/Creator: C. S. Lewis

  • ISBN: 9780007461271

  • Publisher: William Collins

  • Release Date: April 2012

  • Weight: 252g

  • Dimensions: 130 x 196 x 21 mm

  • Eden Code: 4019237

Product Q+A

Ask a Question

Recently Viewed