Skip to main content
  • free

    Life giving resources. Faithfully delivered.

    FREE delivery on orders over £10

  • UK

    Serving over 2 million Christians in the UK

    with Bibles, Books and Church Supplies

  • Church

    Our Buy-Now-Pay-Later accounts used

    by over 4,000 UK Churches & Schools

  • Excellent 4.8 out of 5

    Trustpilot

Little Matches: A Memoir of Finding Light in the Dark

[Hardback]

by Maryanne O'hara

    • Author

      Maryanne O'hara

    • Book Format

      Hardcover

    • Publisher

      HarperOne

    • Published

      April 2021

      Read full description

      Today's Price

      £23.37

      Free delivery icon

      Free UK Delivery


      Available - Usually dispatched within 24 hours


      • Paypal
      • Google Pay
      • Apple Pay
      • Visa
      • Mastercard
      • Amex

      Little Matches: A Memoir of Finding Light in the Dark

      Today's Price £23.37



      Product Description

      "Gripping and true in all ways. This fine, affecting memoir will stay with me for a very long time."--Meg Wolitzer, author of The Female Persuasion

      "In this vividly written memoir novelist O'Hara shares a painful but ultimately beautiful account of her daughter Caitlin's life with cystic fibrosis. . . . Her compelling story will resonate with anyone seeking a light in the darkest depths of grief."--Library Journal

      In the vein of The Year of Magical Thinking and Beautiful Boy, an emotionally raw and inspiring memoir that illuminates a mother's grief over the loss of her adult child and considers the hope of soulful connections that transcend the boundary of life and death.

      When their only child was diagnosed with cystic fibrosis (CF) at the age of two, Maryanne O'Hara and her husband were told that Caitlin could live a long life or be dead in a matter of months. Thirty-one years later, Caitlin lost her battle with this devastating disease following an excruciating two-year wait on the transplant list and a last-minute race to locate a pair of healthy lungs.

      The sudden spiral of events left Maryanne in an existential crisis, searching to find an answer to the eternal question: Why we are here? During her final years, Caitlin had become a source of wisdom and comfort for her mother--the partner with whom she shared a deep spiritual quest to understand what it meant to have a soul. After Caitlin's passing, Maryanne began to notice signs--poignant, persistent synchronicities that seemed to lean toward proof of Caitlin's enduring presence.

      Weaving together a series of interconnected meditations with illuminating glimpses of life rendered via text messages, e-mails, and journal entries, Little Matches is a profound reflection on life and death, motherhood, the pain of chronic uncertainty, and finding inspiration in the unexpected sparks that light our way through the darkness.

      Specification

      • Author

        Maryanne O'hara

      • Book Format

        Hardcover

      • Publisher

        HarperOne

      • Published

        April 2021

      • Weight

        436g

      • Dimensions

        150 x 214 x 36 mm

      • ISBN

        9780063027763

      • ISBN-10

        0063027763

      • Eden Code

        5591749

      More Information

      • Author/Creator: Maryanne O'hara

      • ISBN: 9780063027763

      • Publisher: HarperOne

      • Release Date: April 2021

      • Weight: 436g

      • Dimensions: 150 x 214 x 36 mm

      • Eden Code: 5591749


      Product Q+A

      Ask a Question

      Recently Viewed