Egyptian Nightmare Dark Chapters Vol 1 Paperback

by Hannah MacFarlane

In Stock - Usually dispatched within 24 hours


Free UK delivery when you spend £10 or more

Price and Purchase

Offer price: £5.99
Go to Basket We accept VISA, Mastercard, Paypal and Buy Now Pay Later

If you're buying for a church, school or business, why not Buy Now Pay Later?

Find Out More

Egyptian Nightmare Dark Chapters Vol 1

Full Product Description

The Egyptian Nightmare is part of the Dark Chapters series and tells the story of the Biblical character Pharaoh. In the book we see how the life of Pharaoh compares to how God wants us to live.

In the the Dark Chapters series the books examine what happens as a consequence of them not following God's plan for their lives. The text does not sensationalise the horrific aspects of each story for entertainment's sake, and therefore trivialise what it has to say.

Each retold account uses the more fantastic and gruesome epsiodes of each character's story to grip the reader and draw them into assessing why these events take place.

The reader is asked throughout the books to consider questions about the nature of God, how we should live as Christians, what value we place on things of this world - power, wealth, influence or popularity - and what God values.

Pharaoh is ruler of all he surveys. His kingdom is prosperous and his monuments are being built at a fantastic rate by his Hebrew slaves.However, when Moses and Aaron turn up and demand the release of the Israelites to go and worship the Lord in the desert, Pharaoh's grip on power and authority starts to loosen. As each horrific plague is followed by the next, Pharaoh refuses to listen to either Moses or his son Ibiya. He desperately tries to maintain control over the kingdom, convinced that if his priests and people honour their gods, they will overcome the Hebrew menace. However, his stubbornness drives his country to desctruction as he first loses the respect of the people, then his own son, and finally his own life.

The Egyptian Nightmare focuses on the Pharaoh and his son, as they experience each plague. We see Pharaoh's relationship with Moses and Aaron veer wildly from anger to pride to shame to defiance. We also see Moses, though struggling with the destruction and suffering he is called upon to unleash, determinedly following God's call on his life. Through the character of Ibiya, Pharaoh's son and heir, the reader is able to address the tough questions of the story - why is all this suffering necessary? What is the cause of the plagues?What does this whole story tell me about God's character and where does it sit in the wider story of the Bible?

Egyptian Nightmare Dark Chapters Vol 1 by Hannah MacFarlane was published by Scripture Union in October 2010 and is our 8138th best seller. The ISBN for Egyptian Nightmare Dark Chapters Vol 1 is 9781844275359.

Go to Basket

Reviews of Egyptian Nightmare Dark Chapters Vol 1

Customer reviews and testimonials Write a review

Go to Basket

Product Q&A

Got a question? No problem! Just click here to ask us about Egyptian Nightmare Dark Chapters Vol 1.

Other products in the The Dark Chapters Series

See other items in the The Dark Chapters Series

Samples of this Book


Details for Egyptian Nightmare Dark Chapters Vol 1

Author / Artist
Book FormatPaperback
PublisherScripture Union (October 2010)
Editionlarge type edition
Recommended for Agesfrom 11 years up to 14 years
Number of Pages258
Thickness13 mm
Height198 mm
Width129 mm
Product Code2670962
Page last updated 10th October 2018
Eden is an accredited Living Wage employer