In the Days of Rain Paperback

A Daughter. A Father. A Cult.

by Rebecca Stott


In Stock - Order before 4pm for same day dispatchWant it on Monday 22 October?

Order within 3 hours and 43 minutes for delivery on Monday 22 October when you choose Next Day Delivery at the Checkout



Free UK delivery when you spend £10 or more

Price and Purchase

Offer price: £9.99
Go to Basket We accept VISA, Mastercard, Paypal and Buy Now Pay Later

If you're buying for a church, school or business, why not Buy Now Pay Later?

Find Out More

In the Days of Rain

Full Product Description

  • For fans of powerful biographies
  • An account of life in the shadow of the Exclusive Brethren
  • This book is also a moving account of a father and daughter finding healing
WINNER OF THE 2017 COSTA BIOGRAPHY AWARD

In the vein of Bad Blood and Why be Happy when you can be Normal?: an enthralling, at times shocking, and deeply personal family memoir of growing up in, and breaking away from, a fundamentalist Christian cult.At university when I made new friends and confidantes, I couldn't explain how I'd become a teenage mother, or shoplifted books for years, or why I was afraid of the dark and had a compulsion to rescue people, without explaining about the Brethren or the God they made for us, and the Rapture they told us was coming. But then I couldn't really begin to talk about the Brethren without explaining about my father'

As Rebecca Stott's father lay dying he begged her to help him write the memoir he had been struggling with for years. He wanted to tell the story of their family, who, for generations had all been members of a fundamentalist Christian sect. Yet, each time he reached a certain point, he became tangled in a thicket of painful memories and could not go on.

The sect were a closed community who believed the world is ruled by Satan: non-sect books were banned, women were made to wear headscarves and those who disobeyed the rules were punished.

Rebecca was born into the sect, yet, as an intelligent, inquiring child she was always asking dangerous questions. She would discover that her father, an influential preacher, had been asking them too, and that the fault-line between faith and doubt had almost engulfed him.

In In the Days of Rain Rebecca gathers the broken threads of her father's story, and her own, and follows him into the thicket to tell of her family's experiences within the sect, and the decades-long aftermath of their breaking away.

In the Days of Rain by Rebecca Stott was published by HarperCollins Publishers in January 2018 and is our 2162nd best seller. The ISBN for In the Days of Rain is 9780008209193.

Go to Basket

Reviews of In the Days of Rain

Customer reviews and testimonials Write a review

Go to Basket

Associated Articles

Take a peek at some articles related to In the Days of Rain.

In the Days of Rain - Review In the Days of Rain - Review
Posted: Wednesday, January 10th

Product Q&A

Got a question? No problem! Just click here to ask us about In the Days of Rain.

Specifications

Details for In the Days of Rain

Author / Artist
Book FormatPaperback
PublisherHarperCollins Publishers (January 2018)
Weight270g
Number of Pages400
Height198 mm
Width129 mm
ISBN9780008209193
ISBN-100008209197
Product Code4532457
Page last updated 11th October 2018
Eden is an accredited Living Wage employer