Skip to main content
  • free

    Life giving resources. Faithfully delivered.

    FREE delivery on orders over £10

  • UK

    Serving over 2 million Christians in the UK

    with Bibles, Books and Church Supplies

  • Church

    Our Buy-Now-Pay-Later accounts used

    by over 4,000 UK Churches & Schools

  • Excellent 4.8 out of 5


Adela Cathcart (Complete in Three Volumes)


by George MacDonald

    • Author

      George MacDonald

    • Book Format


    • Publisher

      Assumption Press

    • Published

      March 2014

    Read full description

    Today's Price


    Free delivery icon

    Free UK Delivery

    Available - Usually dispatched within 4 days

    • Paypal
    • Google Pay
    • Apple Pay
    • Visa
    • Mastercard
    • Amex

    Adela Cathcart (Complete in Three Volumes)

    Today's Price £21.32

    Product Description

    George MacDonald (1824-1905) was a Scottish minister who is widely recognized as the most influential fantasist of the nineteenth century. His many works include Phantastes, Lilith, The Princess and the Goblin, and The Gifts of the Child Christ.

    In Adela Cathcart, MacDonald writes about a group of friends who nurse a sick young woman back to health by meeting together to tell stories. In the vein of The Canterbury Tales, the many legends and ballads they invent include some of MacDonald's richest and most original writing. The most famous of these stories include:

    The Light Princess. A child is cursed with an inability to recognize anything serious or sorrowful in life, but can only find happiness by learning to weep.

    The Shadows. A man is transported to the kingdom of fairies and beholds how these dark spirits work to spread happiness and consolation through the world.

    The Giant's Heart. A deathless giant with no heart in his body captures six princes and their wives in his enchanted castle. The youngest brother of the princes goes on a quest to rescue them by finding the hiding place of the giant's heart.

    The collection also includes The Broken Swords, The Cruel Painter, The Castle, My Uncle Peter, A Child's Holiday, and Birth, Dreaming, Death.


    • Author

      George MacDonald

    • Book Format


    • Publisher

      Assumption Press

    • Published

      March 2014

    • Weight


    • Dimensions

      153 x 229 x 26 mm

    • ISBN


    • ISBN-10


    • Eden Code


    More Information

    • Author/Creator: George MacDonald

    • ISBN: 9780615994833

    • Publisher: Assumption Press

    • Release Date: March 2014

    • Weight: 668g

    • Dimensions: 153 x 229 x 26 mm

    • Eden Code: 6319286

    Product Q+A

    Ask a Question

    Recently Viewed