The Tutor's Daughter Paperback

One girl, a Cornish mansion, two mysterious brothers

by Julie Klassen;


Stock available

 


Free UK delivery when you spend £10 or more
A Bird's Eye View

UK based romantic fiction from bestselling novelist Julie Klassen for fans of Downton Abbey and Jane Austen novels.

Price and Purchase

Offer price: £9.44
Go to Basket We accept VISA, Mastercard, Paypal and Buy Now Pay Later

If you're buying for a church, school or business, why not Buy Now Pay Later?

Find Out More
Product Bundles
This item is available as part of the following bundle
Julie Klassen Value Pack for £43.00 Saving you £10.94

The Tutor's Daughter

Full Product Description

Beginning in the Devon town of Longstaple, in the same year that Napoleon’s ambitions in Russia came to a snowy and disastrous end, novelist Julie Klassen introduces Emma Smallwood: ‘The Tutor’s Daughter’. Set in a boarding school for the son’s of gentlemen, 16 year old Emma is object of the affections of Phillip Weston, most favoured pupil of her father, the headmaster.

It might look like the beginning of a classic early nineteenth century romance of young hearts, but fate and fortune – or lack of it, suddenly intervene. The boarding school fails financially and Emma, now set on supporting her father in his new and desparate employment as a private tutor, travels with him to the Cornish coast and the cliff-top manor of a baronet and his four sons.

Even then, when another story seems set to unfold in the classic pattern of love and romance, mysterious and dangerous things begin to happen. The piano is heard playing in the night, but the music room is empty. Fingers turn the doorhandle to her room at night, but no one is seen and pages disappear from her journal, only to reappear with a chilling illustration.

With her father’s new pupils, wrestle with problems and secrets of their own, one of them finds himself unexpectedly drawn to her. Emma must figure out which brother to trust and which to blame for the strange and frightening occurrences.

The Tutor's Daughter by Julie Klassen was published by Baker in February 2013 and is our 33959th best seller. The ISBN for The Tutor's Daughter is 9780764210693.

Reviews of The Tutor's Daughter

Customer reviews and testimonials Write a review

Product Q&A

Got a question? No problem! Just click here to ask us about The Tutor's Daughter.

If you like this you may also like...

Publisher's Description

Emma Smallwood, determined to help her widowed father when his boarding school fails, accompanies him to the cliff-top manor of a baronet and his four sons. But soon after they arrive and begin teaching the two younger boys, mysterious things begin to happen. Who does Emma hear playing the pianoforte at night, only to find the music room empty? And who begins sneaking into her bedchamber, leaving behind strange mementos?

The baronet's older sons, Phillip and Henry Weston, wrestle with problems--and secrets--of their own. They both remember the studious Miss Smallwood from their days at her father's academy. But now one of them finds himself unexpectedly drawn to her...

When suspicious acts escalate, can Emma figure out which brother to blame and which to trust with her heart?

Filled with page-turning suspense, The Tutor's Daughter takes readers to the windswept Cornwall coast - a place infamous for shipwrecks and superstitions - where danger lurks, faith is tested, and romance awaits.

Transcript

“Father and I have arrived in Cornwall. It’s strange, Sir Giles seems to have completely forgotten that he’s hired father to teach his youngest sons. We were not expected and, it appears, not welcome... so writes Emma in her Diary.”

Henry: “Emma Smallwood with her nose in a book. What a picture from the past.”

Emma: “Henry… Mr Weston, What a surprise, I hadn’t realised you were at home.”

Henry: “Yes, I have been away on… family business. I apologise for not being here to greet you, but I hope my father and brothers have made you feel at home.”

Emma: “Actually things have been a little… strange. Last night I thought I heard someone playing the pianoforte, and some one was rattling my door.”

Henry: “I’m sure you were just dreaming, Miss Smallwood. These old manors, they’re always creaking. The corridirs are so draughty with the wind off the cliffs.”

Emma: “I’m sure it wasn’t the wind.Your brothers tell me that Ebbington has a ghost.”

Henry: “Come now Miss Smallwood. You’ve been reading too many novels and you know how boys love to tease. But if you hear or see anything else, please, do let me know.”

Emma: “I’m not imagining it. Every night I hear things. They’re always whispering. I know they're hiding something.”

Endorsements

Reader's Praise for 'The Tutor's Daughter'

"I was swept into early 19th Century England with the author's beautiful descriptive writing and the flowing dialogue. Emma Smallwood and her father leave Longstaple and their boarding school and failing academy for Ebbington Manor on the Cornwall Coast."

"Julie Klassen has written a superb story that will grab you in the beginning and not shake you lose until the very end. I found it very hard to put this book down. I’ve read other novels by Ms. Klassen but The Tutor’s Daughter is something special! "

"The novel is riddled with mystery and suspicious acts. It's set against the backdrop of the coast of Cornwall during times of shipwreck and danger."

"Wow what a thrilling and entertaining read! I am a fan of Julie Klassen but this has solidified her as one of my favorite Christian authors. I am a fan of gothic novels like Jane Eyre and the other works of the Bronte sisters. Klassen has captured the essence of those novels in The Tutor's Daughter."

"This novel's beyond a read, it's an experience. As a retired teacher I found this historical tutor tale a wealth of educational interest. There's a secret or more at Ebbington Manor — things appear — others disappear. Such a mystery, with conflicting suspects that Cornwall's best constable would be hard pressed to solve. Action turns sinister when times become desperate. Then as waves smash agains Cornwall's rocky shore The Tutor's Daughter becomes a thriller." -- Alan Daugherty, columnist, "Angelkeep Journals"

"While I love all of Julie's books, it seems that her books just keep getting better and better with more complex plots and unexpected surprises. The Tutor's Daughter not only kept me up late at night, but I'd often sneak a page or two throughout the day so that I could continue reading the book. Overall, this is an exceptional book and one that I would highly recommend to anyone that loves Jane Austen, Charlotte Bronte, Christian fiction, Historical fiction, loves a great storyline, loves to read... you get the point... buy the book!" -- Booksintheburbs

Cornish Inspiration for American Novelist's English Romance

Bude in Cornwall is the inspiration for the fictional coastal village depicted in 'The Tutor's Daughter'. Julie Klassen and her husband visited Bude during their second trip to England in 2011. Bude was — a serendipitous, unplanned stop in the couple’s whirlwind tour of Devon and Cornwall.

From their hotel on the north side of the harbour, Julie spotted a large red-stone manor house high on the cliff opposite and instantly thought to herself: "I want to set a book there." When they asked a local woman, she told us the place was called Efford. Further research revealed that the house was Efford Down House, and built by the same family who once owned Ebbingford Manor, an even older manor house nearby.

Julie decided to base her fictional Ebbington Manor on a combination of these two historic houses. Julie and her husband enjoyed walking up the cliff and along the scenic coastal path. On the top the headland they found an octagonal tower which inspired her fictional Chapel of the Rock – though in fact it’s actually a former coastguard lookout, known as Compass Point. There is something thought-provoking and soul-stirring, Julie recalls, about looking out through the tower’s narrow slit windows, and toward the endless sea beyond.

A lover of romance, English accents, Jane Eyre and anything by Jane Austen Julie Klassen worked in publishing for sixteen years; first in advertising, then as a fiction editor before becoming a full time fiction writer. Three of her books, The Maid of Fairbourne Hall, The Girl in the Gatehouse, and The Silent Governess have won the Christy Award for Historical Romance. The Maid of Fairbourne Hall and The Girl in the Gatehouse also won a Midwest Book Award and The Silent Governess was a finalist in Romance Writers of America's RITA awards.

Julie graduated from the University of Illinois and enjoys travelling, researching her novels, watching BBC period dramas, taking long hikes, short naps, and coffee with friends. Julie and her husband have two sons and live near St. Paul, Minnesota.

In brief: The Tutor's daughter

Julie Klassen’s nineteenth century English romance, ‘The Tutor’s Daughter’, takes you to the windswept cliffs of the Cornish coast. Set on supporting her father in his new and desparate employment as a private tutor, Emma Smallwood realises all is not as it should be in the baronet’s isolated cliff top manor. The piano is heard playing in the night, but the music room is empty. Hands rattle the door to her room at night, but no one is seen and pages disappear from her journal, only to reappear with a chilling illustration. Meanwhile her father’s new pupils, wrestle with problems and secrets of their own, and one of them finds himself unexpectedly drawn to her. Emma must figure out which brother to trust and which to blame for the strange and frightening occurrences.

Featured Video

Samples of this Book

Specifications

Details for The Tutor's Daughter

Page last updated 12th August 2016
Author / Artist
Book FormatPaperback
PublisherBaker (February 2013)
Weight363g
Number of Pages416
Thickness30 mm
Height216 mm
Width140 mm
ISBN9780764210693
ISBN-100764210696
Product Code4055287
Eden is an accredited Living Wage employer