Mortal Fire Paperback

The Secret of the Journal | Book 1

by C. F. Dunn;

0Usually dispatched within 7 - 21 days


Free UK delivery when you spend £10 or more

Price and Purchase

Offer price: £11.09 Free UK Delivery
Go to Basket We accept VISA, Mastercard, Paypal and Buy Now Pay Later

If you're buying for a church, school or business, why not Buy Now Pay Later?

Find Out More

Mortal Fire

Full Product Description

When Emma D'Eresby - a 29 year-old, self-contained Professor of History - leaves her Cambridge college for a post in an exclusive university in Maine, USA, she hopes to learn more about a curious 17th-century journal in the College library. Instead, it leads her to a secret that should never have been uncovered. In the States, Emma meets the enigmatic 33-year-old surgeon, Matthew Lynes, a quiet and thoughtful widower.

Driven to learn more about him, Emma takes the unique journal from the College library in which she believes there are clues to his family's English past. Meanwhile, the sinister Professor Kort Staahl mounts a psychotic attack on her. Matthew's courageous intervention saves her, but as he nurses her back to health, his unusual attributes raise questions he is unwilling to answer.

As Part One ends, she returns to her claustrophobic family, avoiding her domineering father and wrestling with despair... For readers of Susan Howatch and anyone who loves a romantic mystery with an academic setting.

Studying history at university, Claire Dunn then followed a vocational route and, with her husband, founded a specialist school dedicated to the needs of children with Dyslexia, Autism and related language difficulties. Returning to her roots to incorporate elements of history into her stories of romance, mystery and suspense, Claire began writing Mortal Fire - the first in The Secret Of The Journal series - in 2009, winning Gold in the ForeWord Book Of The Year Awards, 2012. She now divides her time between running the school in Kent and writing in Cornwall.

Mortal Fire by C. F. Dunn was published by Lion Hudson in May 2012 and is our 20823rd best seller. The ISBN for Mortal Fire is 9780857212023.

Reviews of Mortal Fire

Customer reviews and testimonials Write a review

Product Q&A

Got a question? No problem! Just click here to ask us about Mortal Fire.

Related Departments

This product is also listed in the following departments:

If you like this you may also like...

Other products in the The Secret of the Jounral Series

See other items in the The Secret of the Jounral Series

Rope of Sand

You Save £3.99

Death Be Not Proud

You Save £0.19

Featured Video


Details for Mortal Fire

Page last updated 25th January 2015
Author / Artist
Book FormatPaperback
PublisherLion Hudson (May 2012)
Number of Pages384
Thickness30 mm
Height216 mm
Width138 mm
Product Code4018638
Eden is an accredited Living Wage employer